Our branch currently has five active committees, and we expect to have more in the future. If you are interested in a particular committee, contact the committee chair for more information.

Education Committee, Chair: Penny Smith

Legal Redress Committee, Chair: Leroy Jackson

Fundraising Committee, Chair: Janice Inabinett

Communication, Press, and Publicity Committee, Chair: Dan Kowal

Political Action Committee, Co-Chairs: Roy Osborn and Roger Turner

Religious Affairs (in formation)


The national NAACP by-laws also provide for standing committees in the following areas:

ACT-SO (Afro-Academic, Cultural, Technological and Scientific Olympics); Armed Services & Veteran Affairs; Community Coordination; Criminal Justice, Economic Development; Finance; Freedom Fund; Health; Housing; Labor & Industry; Membership; Prison Branch; Young Adult; Youth Works; and Women in the NAACP (WIN).

If you are interested in pursuing activities in one of these areas, or if you know of a particular need in Jackson County that might be addressed through one of these committees, let us know! Attend a general meeting, become a member, or give us a call.