Humanitarian Awards Nominations

Every two years the western-most branch of the North Carolina NAACP recognizes one organization and one individual for significant contributions to residents in our region. The criteria for nomination is simple:

  • service work must have been done in western North Carolina;
  • the nominee and nominator must come from one of the following counties: Cherokee, Graham, Clay, Macon, Swain, or Jackson; and
  • the nominee does not have to be a member of the NAACP to be considered (they can, of course, be members).

Anyone can make a nomination; nominators, too, do not have to be members of the NAACP. Individuals can suggest more than one person and/or organization in a selection cycle, as long as they use separate nomination forms.

Nomination forms are available by mail (see the address below), through selected organizations, whom we have mailed forms; at NAACP branch general meetings; and on the groups’ Facebook page ( and its web site (

Nominations will close on September 1, 2017. A committee will reduce the nomination list to a set of finalists. An outside committee will then determine the winners. We will announce the Humanitarian Award Winners and honor finalists at an event on October 14 (4-6 PM). The venue is pending, but will be in Jackson County.

In 2015 our awards went to the Community Table of Jackson County and Veronica Nicholas.

If you want to make a nomination, complete the demographic information form and then attach a letter indicating why you believe that person or organization should be recognized. Send all forms to:

Penny Smith, Freedom Fund Chair
Jackson County NAACP
P.O. Box 1218
Dillsboro, NC 28725


Penny Smith, Freedom Fund Chair
Jackson County NAACP
P.O. Box 788
Sylva, NC 28779


 Nomination Form (docx) Nomination Form (pdf) Hats Off! Awards Celebration 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *